My Cart


A Beginners Guide to Understanding the Chakras

Kristi Brooks

Posted on April 11 2018

Chakra stands for “wheel” in sanskrit. In the body there are seven different wheels of energy. It has long been believed that each of these circles represents important nerve clusters in the body that correspond to different stimuli. If you have heard the word bantered around before but aren’t sure what they are referencing, then you might be confused. However, think of these seven different locations as spiritual centers that connect the body to the world and how we process it. 

In short, this means that each of these nerve bundles has a direct tie to very specific parts of your body and the spiritual world around it. In order to keep ourselves healthy and active, the energy must remain flowing through the seven chakras at all times. When one of them is misaligned or is blocked, then it can cause a chain reaction of issues to plague you. After all, a clogged sink isn’t just a nuisance. Over time the clog can cause water pipes to leak and then in turn cause damage to the surrounding floors, walls, etc, which can then lead to mold and other issues. Chakras are the same way, if you do not actively work to keep them open and flowing smoothly one of them could back up and cause a domino affect on your well-being. 

This may sound like an overwhelming prospect, but the truth is that if you are aware of your body and what is going on around you then it may be easier than you think. The very first thing you need to understand is what each of the seven chakras represent and how that can correspond into real world consequences and actions. I will have follow up blogs over each of the chakras that will go into details about what can happen when each of these is blocked and what scents, stones, etc,  can help keep them aligned and healthy.

  1. The first chakra is known as the Root Chakra or the Muladhara. This chakra is a link to the world and helps us to feel stable and secure. On the physical body this nerve center is located at the base of the spine and covers the lower three vertebrae, the bladder, and the colon. The corresponding color for this chakra is red.

  2. The second chakra is seated in the pubic bone and is seen as the home of creativity and expression and is often referred to as the Sacral Chakra or the Svadhisthana. Many people also refer to this chakra as the sexual chakra as it ties in directly to your sexuality and sense of self. The corresponding color is orange.

  3. The third chakra is the Solar Plexus Chakra (or Manipura if going by the Sanskrit version) and it links into the naval. This represents our core and the center of our personal power. The corresponding color is yellow.

  4. The fourth chakra is known as the Heart Chakra and is the center of the 7 points and is seen as the balance between the chakras of matter and chakras of spirit. As such it is often viewed as one of the most important chakras in the system, but it is imperative to remember that all seven of them need to be open and flowing in order to have optimal health. This chakra is responsible for how we feel love and how we receive love. The corresponding color is green.

  5. The fifth chakra is known as the Throat Chakra or the Vishudda. This chakra is for communication and allows us the ability to verbalize our truths. If we hold back on our truth or do not speak with clarity we might find that this chakra is affected, and that can include the neck, thyroid, jaw, mouth, and tongue. The corresponding color is blue

  6. The sixth chakra is the Third Eye Chakra or Ajna in Sanskrit and is found in the forehead in the area just between the eyes. This chakra is deeply connected to our sense of intuition. Working with this chakra can help you to learn when to listen to your intuition and how to interpret the warning signs of the chakra. The corresponding color is indigo.

  7. The seventh and last chakra is known as the Crown Chakra or Sahaswara. Sometimes this chakra is also known as the thousand petal lotus because of the nature of its continuous unfolding throughout our lifetimes. This connection is one to our higher/spiritual self. It is through the seventh chakra that we will ultimately connect to the divine. It is also directly connected to the brain, and as such can be important to mental health and overall well-being. The corresponding color is violet.

I hope you found that information helpful. Be sure to check out my follow up blogs to learn even more about the seven chakras and how they can impact your health.


Leave a comment

All blog comments are checked prior to publishing